© 2016 E.M. Fitch

Search
  • E.M. Fitch

THE ARTISANS by Julie Reece


Julie Reece has crafted a hauntingly beautiful tale and I’m so excited to have found this author. This book was funny, edgy, downright creep-me-out scary at moments and I loved every minute of it. The protagonist is fresh and compelling, the dialogue sharp and witty, and the storyline thoughtful. I love YA books that don’t pretend real life doesn’t exist for teens. Reece has included an alcoholic, gambling character that was written to perfection and the ways in which the protagonist, Raven, manage this relationship is both heart-wrenching and all too true to life. Between her thoughtful handling of reality, her blurring of the paranormal with the possibility of hallucination, and the descriptive, scary scenes, I can’t decide what I like best about this book. What I can say is I finished this in two nights and bought the sequel, The Paladins, immediately. I recommend you do the same.

Fans of Libba Bray, Melissa Marr, or Becca Fitzpatrick will love The Artisans.


2 views